Impact Award 2019 for professors Erwin Peterman and Gijs Wuite

Erwin Peterman, professor of Physics and Living Systems, and Gijs Wuite, professor of Physics and Life Processes received the Impact Award 2019. The Amsterdam Impact Award is awarded annually to distinguished researchers or research groups who have made a meaningful contribution to society with their research and innovations. The award is a lifetime achievement award, not a cash prize.

11/05/2019 | 3:18 PM

They can map the smallest details of cellular processes by using their instruments such as the optical tweezers and fluorescence microscope. Peterman and Wuite succeeded in commercializing their high-quality equipment for fundamental research. This formed the foundation for the spin-off LUMICKS, which could call itself the market leader in high-tech measuring instruments for dynamic single-molecule analysis. The social and economic impact that is achieved because of these measuring instruments is enormous. The instruments enable research groups worldwide to gain a better understanding of how diseases develop and can be prevented. Peterman and Wuite deserve recognition for their vision, ideas and close collaboration with LUMICKS. They turn research into high-tech measuring instruments.   

Other receivers
Jaap Bonjer, professor of surgery at Amsterdam UMC, receives the prize for the establishment of the Amsterdam Skills Center for Health Sciences (ASC). Roeland van Geuns, Professor of Poverty Interventions at the University of Applied Science (HvA), receives the Impact Award for his research on poverty and debt issues. An honorable mention goes to Willem Bouten, Professor of Computational Geo-Ecology, of the University of Amsterdam for his innovation of lightweight GPS trackers for birds.

Most innovative scientific idea in Amsterdam
The Impact Awards are part of the Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award for the most innovative scientific idea in Amsterdam. The Impact Award is an initiative of IXA (Innovation Exchange Amsterdam, Knowledge Transfer Office of UvA, VU, HvA and Amsterdam UMC, locations AMC and VUmc). The researchers will receive their Award on November 26, 2019.


Read here in Dutch.